Box 3, 1816-1820
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
The correspondence of 1816 through 1820 begins with business and family letters received in Copenhagen. After his return to the U.S. in 1819 there is correspondence with the Navy Department and President Monroe regarding the reinstatement of Barron in a naval command. The correspondence of June 1819 to March 1820 with Capt. Stephen Decatur is preserved, along with an account of the duel in which Barron was gravely injured and Decatur killed. (See "The History of a transaction which there ought never to have been occasion for," an account of the duel written by James Barron in the Samuel Barron Papers, Box 1, Folder 8.) The correspondence with Capt. J. D. Elliott, his second, and reports of the controversies which followed the duel are included. Family letters include many from his daughter, Mrs. Jane Barron Hope.
Dates
- Creation: 1816-1820
Creator
- From the Collection: Barron, James, 1769-1851 (Person)
- From the Collection: Adams, John, 1735-1826 (Person)
- From the Collection: Elliott, Jesse Duncan, 1782-1845 (Person)
- From the Collection: Green, Duff, 1791-1875 (Person)
- From the Collection: Jackson, Andrew, 1767-1845 (Person)
- From the Collection: Kendall, Amos, 1789-1869 (Person)
- From the Collection: Stevens, William Oliver, 1878-1955 (Person)
- From the Collection: Upshur, A. P. (Abel Parker), 1790-1844 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 7.52 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository