John Marshall, Amsterdam, to Timothy Pickering, 1797 September 2
Scope and Contents
The captain of a British frigate of Admiral Duncan's fleet at the mouth of the Texel boarded their ship on August 29 but treated them extremely politely upon learning that a US minister was on board; observed the Dutch fleet in the Texel ready to move on the British if negotiations at Lille failed; describes the internal politics of the French government: the Directory presses for war while the Council of Five Hundred desires peace, fearing the politicization of the French army; Lord Malmesbury (William Harris) is at Lille negotiating for peace between Britain and France; Charles Maurice de Talleyran Perigord, the French Minister of foreign affairs, has sent orders to French parts to grant immediate passports to the American envoys. Original is located in the RG 59, National Archives, Washington, D.C.
Dates
- Creation: 1797 September 2
Creator
- From the Collection: Marshall, John, 1755-1835 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 434.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository