Folder 4, 1750-1870
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents Papers, 1767-1870, relating to Bedford County, Va. Includes accounts; bonds; bill of sale, 1783. for slave; copy of appointment, 1772, of James Steptoe as clerk of Bedford Court; and copy of land grant, 1792. Also includes letter, 1876, of A. Granville Bradley describing the Shenandoah Valley and list, undated, of soldiers who served in the French and Indian War and the American Revolution with notes on the formation of Campbell County, Va. Land Grant of 300 acres in Bedford County, Virginia to Job Martin for payment of L1.10 sterling to the Treasury of the Commonwealth. Signed by Henry Lee, Governor. The materials that comprise this collection were donated by W. Mac Jones and Mrs. William C. Segar and obtained or purchased by W&M Special Collections Research Center in batches between the period of 1927 and 1981.
Dates
- Creation: 1750-1870
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 30.00 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository