Manuscript Volumes
Scope and Contents
Records include annual congregational minutes, 1956-1992 (with gaps); administrative papers, chiefly 1950, 1975-1985; worship service bulletins, 1934-1963; booklets and speeches concerning the history of the church, correspondence regarding property, insurance and construction of parish house; baptismal, confirmation, and burial records; and letters of transfer. Other records are correspondence with missionaries, documents concerning Arthur Pierce Middleton; annual parochial reports, vestry minutes, women's organization (Women of Hickory Neck and Women's Guild) minutes, photographs and manuscript volumes. Box 1 contains photocopies of church records spanning 1721-1786 and 1824-1825, such as from the Church Vestry book and a diary excerpt. Permanent loan mediated through the Williamsburg Historic Records Association.
Dates
- Creation: 1721-1985
Creator
- From the Collection: Hickory Neck Church (James City County, Va.) (Organization)
Conditions Governing Access
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 5.0 Linear Feet
From the Collection: 8.86 Megabytes
Language
English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository