Jesse and Catherine Cole Correspondence, 1830 September
Scope and Contents
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved individuals are in the last will and testament of Ezechael Lane, and the hiring of an enslaved man named William by L.W. Lane and William K. Davis in January 1862.
Dates
- Creation: 1830 September
Creator
- From the Collection: Cole, Henry Denison, 1856-1938 (Person)
- From the Collection: Lane, Levin Winder, Sr. (Person)
Conditions Governing Access
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 2 Boxes
Language
English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository