Skip to main content

Series 4: Phonograph of Lane Carlson's Letter to her Parents

 Series

Scope and Contents

From the Collection:

Papers, 1937-1972, of Colonel Bonnie "Lane" Carlson, originally from Scotts Bluff, Nebraska. Colonel Lane Carlson was one of the first five female colonels in the United States Army. Primarily includes letters written to and from her parents throughout her life, beginning with her time at Sullins College in Bristol, Virginia, various military bases, postwar Japan and West Germany. Some of the topics discussed in the letters include base life during the war, the experience of a commissioned Women's Army Corps officer, vacations, and her role as technical director in the film "Francis Joins the WAC." The collection also contains professional papers, scrapbooks, a travel diary, and photographs of Helen Keller's visit to Japan in 1948.

Dates

  • Creation: 1937-1972 and undated

Creator

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Extent

From the Collection: 10.25 Linear Feet

Language

English

Repository Details

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: