Folder 8
Scope and Contents
Contains the April May 1997 issue of the "Olympic Review," featuring the five finalists for the 2004 Olympic Games, as well as posters related to the Olympics. The posters include seven 27 1/2" x 19 1/2" posters produced by the Southland Corporation for the 7-11 chain featuring past Olympians and their achievements. The athletes include Jim Thorpe in 1912, Babe Didrikson in 1932, Bob Mathias in 1948, Andrea Mead Lawrence in 1952, Shun Fujimoto in 1976, Harrison Dillard in 1948, Abebe Bikila in 1960, Lillian Copeland and Wilhelmina von Bremen in 1932, and Dorand Pietri and Johnny Hayes in 1908; four 27 1/2" x 22" posters featuring official British Amateur Athletic Board Coaching Charts for sprinting, long jump, high jump, and relay races; one 28 3/4" x 19" poster featuring the 1982 calendar by SunTour, a bicycle company from Japan; one 22" x 28" poster for the 1983 National Sports Festival held in Colorado Springs, Colorado featuring a gold, silver, and bronze medal from the games; and one 21 1/2" x 32" poster adversting the 1984 U.S. Olympic Stamp Collection featuring stamps for each sport in the Olympic Games.
Dates
- Creation: circa 1980-2000
Creator
- From the Collection: Henry, Rene A., 1933- (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 8.04 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository