Colonel Christian Tebiger, Cumberland Old Court House, Virginia to the honorable Major General Baron Steuben, 1787 August 10
Scope and Contents
Has enough firewood to accommodate 450 men and 60 spare horses for the winter; confesses to reluctance to carrying out the instructions contained in his [BS's] letter of the 24th of July; he [CT] has no tools with which he can construct huttes [sic] for the men for the winter; has heard of considerable supplies arriving from France and recommends that an application be made by the state for its quota; requests a supply of coats; has requested that Major Call join him [CT]; would like a leave of absence to fetch Mrs. Tebiger to Virginia along with baggage and a medicine chest; will contact Governor Nelson and Col. Davies on the subject of supplies. (See Misc. Mss. Oversize file). 2 pp. Pst. of ALS.
Dates
- Creation: 1787 August 10
Creator
- From the Collection: Gardiner Family (Family)
- From the Collection: Beeckman, Margaret Gardiner, d. 1857 (Person)
- From the Collection: Copland, Charles (Person)
- From the Collection: Gardiner, Alexander, d. 1850 (Person)
- From the Collection: Gardiner, David Lyon (Person)
- From the Collection: Gardiner, Juliana McLachlan, d. 1864 (Person)
- From the Collection: Gilmer Family (Family)
- From the Collection: Gilmer, Anne Baker (Person)
- From the Collection: Gilmer, Thomas Walker (Person)
- From the Collection: Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 (Person)
- From the Collection: Peticolas, C. L. Southern Cross (Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Person)
- From the Collection: Tyler Family (Family)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.00 Linear Feet : 17th and early 18th century materials are photocopies.
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository