1946-1977 Papers
Scope and Contents
Correspondence and other material concerning the history of the Skipwith pianoforte and its acquisition and subsequent care and use by the College of William and Mary; includes 2 8" x 10" black and white photographs (P1 and P2) of the pianoforte, and xerox copies from the Broadwood Porters books, 16 July 1816, indicating the original sale and delivery of the pianoforte; printed auction catalogue, 1946, listing "English Harpsichord (beautiful)"; and the Silvery Jubilee Catalogue, 1969, of the Colt Clavier Collection. Also includes the 2003 Conservation Report of the pianoforte by John R. Watson and Louis Dolive of the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. 48 items.
Dates
- Creation: 1760-1977
Creator
- From the Collection: Skipwith Family (Family)
- From the Collection: Skipwith, Fulwar, 1836-1900 (Person)
- From the Collection: Skipwith, Humberston, 1791-1863 (Person)
- From the Collection: Skipwith, Jean Miller, 1748-1826 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 13.21 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository