State Department - Germany, 1954
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents Correspondence with Dr. Froelich Rainey, Director of University of Pennsylvania Museum, Francis Irvin, James Conant, Willy Brandt, Peter Laukhuff, Arthur Foley, Daniel Margolies, Fritz Oppenheimer and others. Includes July 16, 1954 speech given in Hamburg, Germany on recent trade developments. Letter concerning Tuthill's letter in the "Foreign Service Journal." Speech to the Junior FSO's and Mr. Saltzmann given by Al Siebert. In October 1954, Tuthill is appointed Director of the U.S. Operations Mission to Germany. Includes newspaper articles about the appointment and transcript of article from the London Spectator about Joseph McCarthy. Many letters are marked "Personal" though most still touch on Foreign Service matters.
Dates
- Creation: 1954
Creator
- From the Collection: Tuthill, John W., d. 1996 (Person)
Language of Materials
English French German Spanish;Castilian Portuguese
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 11.50 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository