Letters by Iverson L. Twyman (1849-1921), 1881
Scope and Contents
28 items. Include letters from Virginia to brother John Twyman in Nashville (where he is attending college at State Normal College, now Peabody College) and in Texas. Two letters bear letters of Augusta Giles Twyman. Letters concern Readjuster politics in Buckingham County. "The Readjusters all over the county voted for the negro [Shed Dungee] and John Eldridge says he is prouder of that one act than of any other in his whole life." Lists other individuals who voted for Dungee. Turkey and deer hunting.
Dates
- Creation: 1881
Creator
- From the Collection: Austin, Archibald, 1772-1837 (Person)
- From the Collection: Horsley family (Family)
- From the Collection: Spiller family (Family)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 27.50 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository