Letters to Iverson L. Twyman (1810-1864), 1863-1864
Scope and Contents
Includes letters by Thomas Dodermead (hiring slaves for Virginia and Tennessee Railroad Co.; runaway hired hand, Beverly); "A Methodist" (concerning a teaching position; she studied at Buckingham Female Collegiate Institute), W. A. Turner (hiring slaves), Jno. J. Riggins (teaching), Bocock & Parrish, John W. Wingfield (paymaster for Virginia and Tennessee Railroad, hiring slaves), Mary (Annis?) DeWitt (illness of B. M. DeWitt, bears letter of J. C. Mundy), Jno. F Hix (death of B. M. DeWitt), Mary A. Morris (requesting that her husband be re-committed to Western State Asylum), R. B. Shaw, Jr. (speculating that Lee may attack Hooker), Samuel Read (Confederate government's hiring of slaves), J. A. Hefelfinger (Coyner's Springs), Adeline A. Sands (teaching position), Hetty R. Gillam, N. F. Bocock, Stabler & Jones, C. Amanda Hix, J. L. Thornton (describing Union raid in Orange County, Virginia), Robert Atkinson, Hill, Dickinson & Co., Richmond, Virginia, (price of slaves), R. P. Pattison, W. W. Forbes (hiring slaves for Joseph R. Anderson & Co. Tredegar), Brown & Deane, Richmond, Virginia (scarcity of schoolbooks), E. A. Cabell, Thomas F. Perkins (school), Julia E. DeWitt, W. M. Jerdone (his school), Alfred Hughes, A. Brooks (Confederate cavalryman from Georgia).
Dates
- Creation: 1863-1864
Creator
- From the Collection: Austin, Archibald, 1772-1837 (Person)
- From the Collection: Horsley family (Family)
- From the Collection: Spiller family (Family)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 27.50 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository