Letters by family to the Archibald Austins, 1840-1853 and undated

File — Box: 1 , Folder: 3

Identifier: id163268

Staff Only

Letters by family to the Archibald Austins, 1840-1853 and undated, including Susan Austin letter

Go to file

Scope and Contents

11 items. Includes letters by Bernard Austin (to his mother asserting his independence in regard to a marriage choice and concerning his leaving Virginia), B. G. Booker (brother of Mrs. Austin, concerning his move to the West), I. L. Twyman (asking assent from Grace R. Austin to marry her daughter), Eliza B. Austin, Susan Austin (ensalved woman), Martha E. (Austin) Twyman.

Susan Austin letter, 18 July 1851 includes transcription of the letter.

Dates

Creation: 1840-1853 and undated

Creator

From the Collection: Austin, Archibald, 1772-1837 (Person)
From the Collection: Horsley family (Family)
From the Collection: Spiller family (Family)

Language of Materials

From the Collection:

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.