Estate of Hugh Blair Grigsby, 1881-1888
Scope and Contents
Includes tombstone inscription and order for tombstone; "list of books taken from library at Edgehill Oct. 9th, 1884 by Mrs. William Wilson Galt"; receipts for payments from the estate; 1881 prenuptial contract between Mary Blair Grigsby and W. W. Galt stating that William Wilson Galt will not interfere with the rents and profits of the estate of Hugh Blair Grigsby; legal documents with Mary Blair Grigsby Galt as one of the executors of her father's estate; accounts of the estate of Hugh Blair Grigsby.
Dates
- Creation: 1881-1888
Creator
- From the Collection: Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 (Person)
- From the Collection: Grigsby, Hugh Blair, 1806-1881 (Person)
Language of Materials
English Spanish;Castilian
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 16.75 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository