Bushrod Washington, Richmond, Virginia, to "Madam" (Mrs. Elizabeth Whiting), Berkley County, Virginia, 1792 April 21
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents Explains that a perusal of the enclosed letter [missing] will explain his motives for writing it; encloses it to her as it is the surest way of its getting to her "Mama's" (MB) own hands; asks her to send it by some safe opportunity; doesn't know whether his advice will be taken; but if not feels grateful of having done what he thinks of as an act of friendship "without any possible hope of self interest". 1p. AL. [signature clipped]
Dates
- Creation: 1792 April 21
Creator
- From the Collection: Blair family (Family)
- From the Collection: Banister, Anne Blair (Person)
- From the Collection: Bannister family (Family)
- From the Collection: Braxton family (Family)
- From the Collection: Horner family (Family)
- From the Collection: Prescott, Mary Blair Braxton Burwell (Person)
- From the Collection: Whiting family (Family)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 1 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository