John Blair, Williamsburg, to his sister, Mrs. Mary (Blair) Braxton Burwell, 1787 January 6
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents Received her sad letteron the 3rd of November while he was doing public business at Richmond; concerned for his niece but hopes her grief will have subsided by now and "religious reflections given calm to her troubled spirit"; discusses religion and death; sends his love to "Betsey" [Elizabeth (Braxton) Whiting] and hopes that when the weather gets better she "could take a trip down the country" to see ther friends which should make her feel better; says he should have answered her letter while in Richmond but he did not have the opportunity; while in Richmond he was shown a receipt by Mr. (Carter) Braxton of Mr. Russell's for money he paid Mrs. Hunter on her account--he said she had disputed the amount; asks if among her receipts which Mrs. Hunter gave her there was one for that sum. 1p. ALS. [signature clipped]
Dates
- Creation: 1787 January 6
Creator
- From the Collection: Blair family (Family)
- From the Collection: Banister, Anne Blair (Person)
- From the Collection: Bannister family (Family)
- From the Collection: Braxton family (Family)
- From the Collection: Horner family (Family)
- From the Collection: Prescott, Mary Blair Braxton Burwell (Person)
- From the Collection: Whiting family (Family)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 1 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository