Jean (Balfour) Blair, Williamsburg, to her sister-in-law, Mrs. Mary (Blair) Braxton, "Newington," King and Queen County, Virginia, 1769 October 14
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents Happy to hear that she (MB) is well; obeys her command concerning the money and got her (JB) sister Burwell to pay it to Mr. Greenhow; Mr. Greenhow sends compliments to her (MB) and sorry she gave herself the trouble of sending it down "on purpose, as the letter end of the Court will suit him as well"; sends cabbage seed, no coliflower [sic] seed; also sends some orange peel which she had imported; assures her that Betsey [Braxton] is no trouble to the family and behaved well the while time Nancy [Anne Blair] was in Hampton; obliged for ther trouble she had taken about the "Viginia [sic] cloth" that was woven by Mrs. Lumpkin; cannot pay Mrs. Lumpkin in bonnets or aprons for her services now because she has none to spare as a result of it being "Association times" but she can pay her [ML] in money; she (MB) will be recieving her spinning wheel by the first ship; wishes her and "Dr. Little George" [George Braxton, Jr.] health and happiness. 2pp. ALS.
Dates
- Creation: 1769 October 14
Creator
- From the Collection: Blair family (Family)
- From the Collection: Banister, Anne Blair (Person)
- From the Collection: Bannister family (Family)
- From the Collection: Braxton family (Family)
- From the Collection: Horner family (Family)
- From the Collection: Prescott, Mary Blair Braxton Burwell (Person)
- From the Collection: Whiting family (Family)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 1 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository