Correspondence, 1650-1635
Scope and Contents
First three folders contain genealogical notes and correspondence between John Stewart Bryan and Jack E. Morpurgo, 1938-1942, concerning the acquisition of the Dunmore Family Papers. The earliest papers of the collection relate to the land in Brabant, Holland and Zealand which the Dunmore family inherited from Jacques Stanley, 7th Earl of Derby (1607-1672) and his wife Charlotte de la Tremoille. Letters to Amelia Sophia, Lady Marquess of Atholl (d. 1702/03), mother of Charles, 1st Earl of Dunmore, describing Europe during the early 1680's. Accounts for the household of James, Duke of York, until 1689 relative to 1st Earl's position as Master of the Horse for James' wife and daughter. After the triumph of William, Prince of Orange, the 1st Earl was called to Parliament. Letters, 1702-1709, between Charles and his older brother John, 1st Duke of Atholl (1659/60-1724) discussing jobs, the treachery of Simon Fraser, James, 2nd Duke of Queensberry (1672-1724), and the Glencoe Massacre. Letters to William Murray, 3rd Earl (1696-1756) from his niece Anne Chochrane concerning social news between 1720 and 1722. Financial matters of William Murray are also included in this box.
Dates
- Creation: 1650-1635
Creator
- From the Collection: Dunmore family (Family)
- From the Collection: Alexandra, Queen, consort of Edward VII, King of Great Britain, 1844-1925 (Person)
- From the Collection: Augusta, Princess, wife of Prince Adolphus Frederick, Duke of Cambridge, d. 1889 (Person)
- From the Collection: Cambridge, Adolphus Frederick, Duke of, 1774-1870 (Person)
- From the Collection: Dunmore, Charles Adolphus Murray, Earl of, 1841-1907 (Person)
- From the Collection: Dunmore, Charles Murray, Earl of, 1661-1710 (Person)
- From the Collection: Dunmore, George Murray, Earl of, 1762-1836 (Person)
- From the Collection: Dunmore, John Murray, 4th Earl of, 1732-1809 (Person)
- From the Collection: Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1685-1752 (Person)
- From the Collection: Edward VII, King of Great Britain, 1841-1910 (Person)
- From the Collection: Johnson, William, Sir, 1715-1774 (Person)
- From the Collection: Pelham, Henry, 1695?-1754 (Person)
- From the Collection: Saxe, Maurice, comte de, 1696-1750 (Person)
- From the Collection: Victoria, Queen of Great Britain, 1819-1901 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 2.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository