Maybelle Caley Barker, Diaries, 1963-1964
Scope and Contents
Diary (13.5 x 19.5 cm) green, 1963, writer was 73/74 years old, mainly partial and a few full page daily entries on her activities; sparse to no mention of local, national or world events. President Kennedy's baby died (8-9 August) Billy Graham Revival at Olympic Stadium (20 August), President Kennedy assassination (22-25 November). subjects include holiday and birthday celebrations with gifts; weather observations, daily household operations, cooking and meals, correspondence from family and friends, lunches and social activities, historical society activities, pets (Moo-Moo), health issues (Nadine Noble Sondergard, Hilda Caley Noble), financial transactions, deaths of friends and family, local travel, and vacations. Diary (13.5 x 19.5 cm) brick red, 1964, writer was 74/75 years old, mainly partial and a few full page daily entries on her activities; sparse to no mention of local, national or world events;(Gen. Douglas MacArthur died age 84 “he was beloved by all”, Voted for Goldwater on Election day (2 June). Subjects include holiday and birthday celebrations with gifts activities; weather observations, daily household operations, cooking and meals, correspondence from family and friends, lunches and social activities (bridge club), historical society activities, senior citizen activities, pets (Moo-Moo), Ray Sondergard and Nadine Noble Sondergard courtship (9 November-30 December), financial transactions, and deaths of friends and family.
Dates
- Creation: 1963-1964
Creator
- From the Collection: Caley family (Family)
- From the Collection: Hilda Caley Noble, 1917-1968 (Family)
- From the Collection: Mary Davidson Caley, 1895-1962 (Family)
- From the Collection: Maybelle Caley Barker, 1897-1968 (Family)
- From the Collection: Nadine Noble Sondergard (1952-1967), 1952-1967 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 2.33 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository