Samuel Barron, 1765-1910
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
Papers and correspondence of three generations of Samuel Barrons, all of whom were involved in naval affairs. Papers, 1793-1809, of Samuel Barron (1765-1810), commander of one of the Mediterranean squadrons sent to defeat Tripoli. Papers concern naval business and the War with Tripoli. Includes correspondence with his brother James Barron, Stephen Decatur, William Eaton (concerning his controversy with Tobias Lear over the Tripolitan peace settlement), Tobias Lear, Edward Preble, John Rodgers, Robert Smith (Secretary of the Navy), and Thomas Truxton. Includes letters written by Preble and Rodgers on board the USS Constitution and letters concerning the capture of William Bainbridge and the seamen of the USS Philadelphia.
Collections includes manuscript volume, 1834-1847, of sea service of Samuel Barron (1808-1888) aboard ships in Carribbean and Mediterranean seas and includes a copy made by Samuel Barron (1836-1892) of an account by James Barron of his duel with Decatur. The volume also has genealogical material concerning the Barron family.
Papers of Samuel Barron (1808-1888) concern his service off South America and as an officer of Confederate States Navy in command of the European theater. Correspondents include Zebulon Baird Vance, Stephen R. Mallory and Raphael Semmes (giving an account of the engagement between the USS Kearsage and the CSS Alabama). There is a memoir by James Barron Hope in vindication of the censure of Samuel Barron for the loss of Fort Hatteras, N.C., and there are some papers relating to the service of Samuel Barron (1836-1892) as acting master and lieutenant in the Confederate States Navy.
Dates
- Creation: 1765-1910
Creator
- From the Collection: Barron, Samuel, Capt., 1765-1810 (Person)
- From the Collection: Barron, James, 1769-1851 (Person)
- From the Collection: Barron, Samuel, 1808-1888 (Person)
- From the Collection: Barron, Samuel, Lt., 1836-1892 (Person)
- From the Collection: Decatur, Stephen, 1779-1820 (Person)
- From the Collection: Eaton, William, 1764-1811 (Person)
- From the Collection: Hope, James Barron, 1829-1887 (Person)
- From the Collection: Lear, Tobias, 1762-1816 (Person)
- From the Collection: Mallory, Stephen R. (Stephen Russell), 1813-1873 (Person)
- From the Collection: Preble, Edward, 1761-1807 (Person)
- From the Collection: Rodgers, John, 1773-1838 (Person)
- From the Collection: Semmes, Raphael, 1829-1887 (Person)
- From the Collection: Smith, Robert, 1757-1842 (Person)
- From the Collection: Truxton, Thomas, 1755-1822 (Person)
- From the Collection: Vance, Zebulon Baird, 1830-1894 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 7.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository