John M. Galt, Norfolk, to Sallie M. Galt, 1880 July 2
Scope and Contents
Has opened his office in a village across the stream from Norfolk, and called Atlantic City. Has already discovered that a doctor, and especially a coroner, needs discretion. Thanks her for the two mortars. News of Cousin Lettie Gregory, his grandmother, and his father. Jimmie should return from Key West soon. [Note: John M. Galt, the namesake of Sallie's brother, was the son of William and Mary Ware Galt. See Galt Genealogy, I.E.II.b.viii., p. 10.]
Dates
- Creation: 1880 July 2
Creator
- From the Collection: Galt family (Family)
- From the Collection: Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, Rogers Harrison (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 129.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository