William Lambert, Richmond, to Mrs. A. Galt (Mary D. Galt), Williamsburg, 1836 October 13
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents Consigns William to her care while he is in college. He has chosen engineering for a profession, so "should take tickets from Mr. Saunders, [and] Mr. Millington in Chemistry and civil Engineering." Fears the best boarding houses are full but hopes Judge Christian will take him in. Mrs. Galt is to dole out William's money to him, but "he will have but the little occasion for money if he attends to his studies as he has promised to do." Wonders if it is true that John is going South. Their son has been ill but is getting better. Caroline has been away. [Note: William Lambert (1790-1853) was the son of David Lambert and his wife Sarah Ege, and thus a first cousin of Mary D. Galt. William is William Lambert's son, and Caroline his daughter, the "Cary" of the many letters to Elizabeth J. Galt. See Ege Genealogy, II. C. 2., pp. 14-15.].
Dates
- Creation: 1836 October 13
Creator
- From the Collection: Galt family (Family)
- From the Collection: Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, Rogers Harrison (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 129.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository