Mary Tyler Jones, Gloucester Place, to Elizabeth J. Galt, Williamsburg, 1835 December 30
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents She is not sure if it is correct to write about one's own wedding but shall. At 10 on the 23, she went to bed miserable for had not heard if H. was coming or not. An hour later received word he was "in the county at my cousins." One hundred people were there for the wedding, but Mary missed Elizabeth. They attended various dinners and parties on Monday and Tuesday. "This morning our Charles City friends" left. Henry leaves for North Carolina and will be away two weeks. "the gift... shall be treasured while I live, I have put it on my wedding ring finger and there it shall remain..."
Dates
- Creation: 1835 December 30
Creator
- From the Collection: Galt family (Family)
- From the Collection: Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, Rogers Harrison (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 129.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository