William Browne to Dr. A. D. Galt, Richmond, 1813 June 28
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents There is little need for doctors with his regiment for the few who were wounded were not injured seriously. The enemy had 200 killed or wounded, 20 deserters and some prisoners. The enemy evacuated Hampton last night, but the inhabitants were not as ill-treated or plundered as feared. They left behind a large number of slaughtered anim as well as the dead and the stench is awful. A group of negroes were found near his house planning to plunder and burn it.
Dates
- Creation: 1813 June 28
Creator
- From the Collection: Galt family (Family)
- From the Collection: Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, Rogers Harrison (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 129.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository