William C. Galt, Junior, Williamsburg, to [Dr. Alexander D. Galt], 1792 October 29
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents Their father found relief at the Springs and now drinks plenty of porter. Betty's Peggy and Charles Tate, the blacksmith, have died, as well as German Baker, the lawyer, and Betsy Younghusband of Richmond, who had cramps in their stomachs. He attended the weddings of cousin Betsy Galt to Mr. Swan, and Sally Valuntine to Jack Dixon in Richmond. He saw a whale yesterday near Mr. Hanken's opposite Mr. Fox's. [Note: William Craig Galt (1777-1853) the brother of Alexander Dickie Galt, married Matilda Beall, and moved to Louisville, Kentucky, where he was a practicing physician for some years. See Galt Genealogy, II.A.,p. 1. Elizabeth Ege (ca. 1750- ) daughter of William (1725- ) and [?] Servant, married Samuel Swan. See Galt Genealogy I. A. 2, p. 3.
Dates
- Creation: 1792 October 29
Creator
- From the Collection: Galt family (Family)
- From the Collection: Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, Rogers Harrison (Person)
- From the Collection: Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 129.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository