John Thomas Brown "To The People Of Harrison", Undated
Scope and Contents
Physical Location: Removed from this collection and catalogued in the Rare Books Deptartment F 247 H3B73. The second copy is located in the Rare Books Department - Virginia, under the same call number as above. 17 pages. A report to his constituents on such matters as (1) the state Constitutional Convention, (2) the lottery for the Randolph Academy in Clarksburg, (3) county elections, (4) the bill abolishing the chancery Courts and establishing a Superior Court, (5) a Turnpike to their area (defeated by the "Eastern People"), (6) the proposed Baltimore Railroad and (7) the settling of the question of land titles in Western Virginia. Included in the pamphlet are the full texts of the report of the committee on this subject, which he chaired, and the bill proposed by the committee.
Dates
- Creation: Undated
Creator
- From the Collection: Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family (Family)
- From the Collection: Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 (Person)
- From the Collection: Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 (Person)
- From the Collection: Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 (Person)
- From the Collection: Bryan, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter, b. 1805 (Person)
- From the Collection: Bryan, John Randolph, 1806-1887 (Person)
- From the Collection: Coalter family (Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Person)
- From the Collection: Coalter, Judith H. Tomlin, d. 1859 (Person)
- From the Collection: Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 (Person)
- From the Collection: Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 (Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Person)
- From the Collection: Hoge, Moses Drury, 1818-1899 (Person)
- From the Collection: Mason, J. M. (James Murray), 1798-1871 (Person)
- From the Collection: Munford, William, 1775-1825 (Person)
- From the Collection: Pendleton, William Nelson, 1809-1883 (Person)
- From the Collection: Pleasants, John Hampden, 1797-1846 (Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, Judith Randolph, fl. 1792-1813 (Person)
- From the Collection: Rives, William C. (William Cabell), 1793-1868 (Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Lelia Skipwith Carter, 1767-post 1833 (Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Person)
- From the Collection: Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 12.50 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository