Correspondence, 1908 February-March
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents February 20, 1908 [?] Former treasurer of the Stafford Co. to J.T. Brown, Leeland, Va. Taxes for 1906 for your land near Falmouth are $5.52. Please remit. March 5, 1908 James M. Payne, attorney, to J.T. Brown Charleston, WV. Reply; discussion of making an arraignment with the railroad company to build up the Ruffner Tract. 20 March 1908 J.M. Payne to J.T. Brown Charleston, WV I hope you can get a settlement from the K&M Railroad Company for $5,000 otherwise we should sue. March 21, 1908 H.T. Wertham to J.T. Brown Richmond, Va. I will be happy to help your son Tucker find a place with the C&O Railroad Company. March 21, 1908 Eppa Hunton, Jr. to J.T. Brown Richmond, Va. I got in touch with Mr. Whitely concerning a job for your son Tucker but he says at the moment things are very ‘dull in the way of engineering.’ March 25, 1908 C.T. Brown to her husband, J.T. Brown Philadelphia, PA. The opera was grand … Peronneau came around … he and Elizabeth went for a walk. March 28, 1908 A. Caperton Braxton to J.T. Brown Richmond, Va. Will join you at Gauley to discuss property line with you. March 28, 1908 J.T. Brown to O.M. Sadler Brierfield, Va. Reply; recommendations of Mr. Queensbury at railroad station agent. He was careful, correct, and ‘preserved proper order around the station.’ He did have personal difficulties however.
Dates
- Creation: 1908 February-March
Creator
- From the Collection: Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family (Family)
- From the Collection: Braxton family (Family)
- From the Collection: Brown family (Family)
- From the Collection: Brown, Cassie Dallas Tucker (Person)
- From the Collection: Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 (Person)
- From the Collection: Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 (Person)
- From the Collection: Brown, John Thompson, 1861-1921 (Person)
- From the Collection: Brown, John Willcox, 1886- (Person)
- From the Collection: Coalter family (Family)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Mary Haldane Begg, 1875-1967 (Person)
- From the Collection: Saunders family (Family)
- From the Collection: Saunders, Fleming (Person)
- From the Collection: Saunders, Frances Bland Coalter Brown, 1891 (Person)
- From the Collection: Tyree family (Family)
- From the Collection: Wingo family (Family)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 5.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository