Correspondence, 1879 July
Scope and Contents
July 5, 1879 J.T. Brown to Mother, Fanny C. Brown Stanley, Va. Frank and I have been up to Mrs. Julian Ruffin’s twice. Hamilton Barksdale is at Hampstead with Harry Webb. We’re going to make up a baseball club. Wrote to Cousin Cassie. I will room with Willie at the university or if he does not come, with Herbert Claiborne. 8 July 1879 W. Gordon McCabe to Mrs. H.P. Brown Liverpool, England Evaluation of Thompson – his readiness for the university as apprised by his old school master. Unfortunately he considers Thompson unfit at present to make a success of college experience. But he says that personally he is very fond of Thompson, who needs persistent work. 10 July 1879 J.T. Brown to Mother, Fanny C. Brown Richmond, Va. I will be home soon, but need to have my teeth fixed first. I made all my visits in Hanover. Invited Hamilton Barksdale up and he thinks he can come just before the two of us go to Glencoe. 21 July 1879 J.T. Brown to Mother, Fanny C. Brown Stanley, Va. Miss Emily and myself arrived Saturday evening; Uncle Saint let Mercer and Drewry go over to grandpa’s with me for dinner. Frank and I are going to see Fannie Young on Thursday.
Dates
- Creation: 1879 July
Creator
- From the Collection: Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family (Family)
- From the Collection: Braxton family (Family)
- From the Collection: Brown family (Family)
- From the Collection: Brown, Cassie Dallas Tucker (Person)
- From the Collection: Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 (Person)
- From the Collection: Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 (Person)
- From the Collection: Brown, John Thompson, 1861-1921 (Person)
- From the Collection: Brown, John Willcox, 1886- (Person)
- From the Collection: Coalter family (Family)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Mary Haldane Begg, 1875-1967 (Person)
- From the Collection: Saunders family (Family)
- From the Collection: Saunders, Fleming (Person)
- From the Collection: Saunders, Frances Bland Coalter Brown, 1891 (Person)
- From the Collection: Tyree family (Family)
- From the Collection: Wingo family (Family)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 5.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository