Nathaniel V. Watkins, Brookland, North Carolina, to his brother, Dick (Richard H. Watkins)
Scope and Contents
His financial problems continue; apparently, farther south, matters are a little better because speculation and development are higher; his farm is serving as an expense rather then a source of profit; must continue teaching to pay for farm expenses; refers to his recent nervous breakdown due to over-work; mentions the horrors of teaching; relays family news; although he would like to, he is too poor to relocate; refers to his crops of cotton, tobacco and molasses; mentions the upcoming railroad from Keysville (?) to Clarksville (?).
Dates
- Creation: 1880 February 4-1889 August 29
Creator
- From the Collection: Watkins, Nathaniel Venable (Person)
- From the Collection: Ballantine, Elisha (Rev.) (Person)
- From the Collection: Daniel, James B. (Person)
- From the Collection: Read, Charles Lewis, 1794-1869 (Person)
- From the Collection: Sherrill, Nancy Read (Person)
- From the Collection: Watkins, Richard H. (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 2.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository