Nannie V. Watkins, Waterloo, Granville County, North Carolina, to her husband, Nathaniel V. Watkins
Scope and Contents
Relays church news; refers to the well-being of friends and neighbors; home chores and laboring on the crops continues; mentions their daughter Minnie H. Watkins; refers to the emptiness of many local stores; schooling of the children continues; gives details of the trading being done at the "Fork" a local election is taking place; stealing is occuring by the female negroes; updates on their negroes are made; is having problems finding someone to manage the farm another year; refers to revivals taking place in the army; lectures her husband on attending his Bible class and on the evils of drinking; discusses Nathaniel's hopes of getting a furlough or substitute; relays news of General Beauregard's efforts at saving Charleston; fear of a "great battle" in Tennessee is growing; mentions a fight at Chattanooga (?); is pleased to learn Nathaniel has accepted a higher and less taxing position; is worried that he has sent to Jones' Island, "the most dangerous place around Charleston."
Dates
- Creation: 1863 November 2-1864 October 1
Creator
- From the Collection: Watkins, Nathaniel Venable (Person)
- From the Collection: Ballantine, Elisha (Rev.) (Person)
- From the Collection: Daniel, James B. (Person)
- From the Collection: Read, Charles Lewis, 1794-1869 (Person)
- From the Collection: Sherrill, Nancy Read (Person)
- From the Collection: Watkins, Richard H. (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 2.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository