Nathaniel V. Watkins, Henrico County, Virginia, to Nannie V. Watkins, Townesville, North Carolina, 1862 May 17
Scope and Contents
Describes a miserable march and the manning of his gun; says that men stood the march well; says if he is made infantry he will attempt to transfer to another company; doesn't see how this force of eight or ten thousand can he whipped by any force. Including letter, April 18, 1862, gives instructions of where to write him; expresses concern for those at home due to outbreak of fever.
Dates
- Creation: 1862 May 17
Creator
- From the Collection: Watkins, Nathaniel Venable (Person)
- From the Collection: Ballantine, Elisha (Rev.) (Person)
- From the Collection: Daniel, James B. (Person)
- From the Collection: Read, Charles Lewis, 1794-1869 (Person)
- From the Collection: Sherrill, Nancy Read (Person)
- From the Collection: Watkins, Richard H. (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 2.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository