Envelopes and stamps, 1861-1865
Scope and Contents
Correspondence (and typescripts of originals); 1861-1865, of William Foster Morgan (born 1828), Sergeant in the 2nd Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry, Company A. USA, to his wife Eliza Morgan, of Lynn, Massachusetts, mostly concerning camp conditions. The letter dated May 12, 1863 describes the infantry's participation in the Battle of Chancellorsville. Morgan's letters are written near Harper's Ferry, Fairfax Station and Stafford Courthouse, Virginia, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, Baltimore, Maryland, Nashville and Tullahoma, Tennessee, as well as Marietta and Atlanta, Georgia. Seven letters of this collection were written to Eliza and William from relatives and friends (typescripts of these not included). Also includes City of Lynn Statistics for Military Record, undated, for Morgan.
Dates
- Creation: 1861-1865
Creator
- From the Collection: Morgan, William Foster , born 1828 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 0.3 Linear Feet
Language
English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository