Diary, 1959
Scope and Contents
Diary, 1959, of Helen Mantel of Brooklyn, New York. Includes her daily activities, people with which she meets, and places that they go. It also includes a few very brief entries regarding a trip to Cuba taken in June and July of 1959, months after Fidel Castro had overthrown Fulgencio Batista. Mantel's grandmother lived in Cuba and the family took the trip because she was sick. In a couple of sentences Helen Mantel mentions seeing Batista's daughter in a restaurant, and the fact that her mother saw someone described as "Castro's right hand."
Dates
- Creation: 1959
Creator
- From the Collection: Mantel, Helen (Person)
Conditions Governing Access
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 0.01 Linear Foot
Language
English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository