Lucy Taliaferro Baytop, Springfield, Gloucester County, Virginia to Hetty Fitzhugh, Stanardsville, Greene County, Virginia , 1860 March 25
Scope and Contents
Lucy hHas been sick with a "congestion of wind"; relates loss of a slave girl who died from burns sustained in a fire; elaborates on struggle between Mr. Booth and Mr. Sinclair establishing ownership and value of the slave girl; comments, "disunion War or abject submission. I am a wonder to myself how I stand so well, once the mere talk of an insurrection would fill me with terror, now we have a white war and a servile one to dread..." Includes typescript.
Dates
- Creation: 1860 March 25
Creator
- From the Collection: Baytop, Lucy Taliaferro Catlett (Person)
- From the Collection: Baytop family (Family)
- From the Collection: Fitzhugh family (Family)
- From the Collection: Fitzhugh, Henrietta Ellen Baytop (Person)
- From the Collection: Fitzhugh, Mary F. (Person)
- From the Collection: Fitzhugh, Rufus King (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 0.30 Linear Feet
Language
English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository