Dried Fungus with Poem Written on It, undated
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1887-1976, of the Ball family, chiefly Hugh Ball and Mary Pierce Ball who operated a dairy farm in Vergennes, Vermont. Dairy farming account books and receipts are included in the collection. Mary Ball (née Mary Lucy Pierce) grew up in Shelbourne, Vermont and her eleven diaries, written between the ages of eighteen and thirty-two, detail the weather, social engagements, sewing projects, books read, school, and in the last diary, baby care.
Also in the collection are correspondence, mainly between members of the Ball family; portraits and snapshots; artwork; and other related materials.
Dates
- Creation: undated
Creator
- From the Collection: Ball family (Family)
- From the Collection: Ball, Hugh (Person)
- From the Collection: Ball, Mary Pierce (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 0.50 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository