Ewell (Elizabeth) to Benjamin Stoddert Ewell, at Prince Edward Court House, Virginia. Postmarked Millford Mills, Virginia, 1841 April 13
Scope and Contents
Elizabeth sends family news. Ben Gantt is in Norfolk for three months while the Delaware is refitted. She requests that Ben ask him to visit. The Temperance Movement is growing. Richard will lose out of his United States Bank notes since the bank failed. She includes Lord Byron's view of Catholicism. Richard is at the garrison in Arkansas.
Dates
- Creation: 1841 April 13
Creator
- From the Collection: Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert (Person)
- From the Collection: Office of the President (Organization)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 3.5 Linear Feet
Language
From the File: English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository