Correspondence, 1969
Scope and Contents
Sends sister a copy of the phonetic alphabet. Training exercises such as running through a gas chamber. Poem by James M. Sweet. March 1969. Tells his location is Vietnam and gives detail about attacks.. Sends price list for Overseas Distribution for Maverick Passenger cars. May 12: “…had three rockets come in…I just rolled over on the floor and under my bed…” “watched B52 attacks on the mountain and HUEY COBRA’s gunships…about every night.”
Dates
- Creation: 1969
Creator
- From the Collection: Strout, Herbert C., 1920-2004 (Person)
- From the Collection: Chipman, Harold W., 1923-2008 (Person)
- From the Collection: Strout, Jerry L., 1947 - unknown (Person)
- From the Collection: Strout, Phyllis C. (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 0.80 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository