Special Collections Research Center

Photographs, postcards, election material and family material of the Roane Family of Gloucester County, Virginia.  Collection centers on the Roane Family, but also has material on Gloucester, Virginia organizations such as the Historical Society and Virginia organizations, such as the Clerk of Courts Association, and regional organizations, such as the Rotary Club.

Collection of 22 black and white photographs of various African American individuals and families. Some of the photographs are labeled with first names and the date of the picture. Dates range from the 1950's through the 1970's. There is also a newspaper clipping of Annie Poindexter that was published in loving memory of her by her children, Lonnie and Marguerite. Poindexter passed July 3, 1959. It is supposed that the collection of photographs are from a Roanoke Estate.

Diary, 1890-1893, of Robert Bolling Willcox of "Flowerdew Hundred," Prince George County, Virginia. which discusses plantation life, Virginia politics, weather, neighbors, and family.

Ledger, 1851-1871, of Robert Daniel noting tuition and board of various students and including accounts of James W. Stratton, Scottsville, Virginia.

Letter, 1862 February 26, between Robert H. Crist, a private in the 21st Indiana Volunteers, to his father, P.M. Crist, during the American Civil War. Crist writes about camp life around Fort Monroe, Virginia, soldiers sleeping in stables, being able to see rebels across the river and observing there are no towns there except camps.

Journal, 1832-1833, of Robert H. Isbell, merchant, of Louisa County, Va.

Receipts, 1825-1839, of Robert McCandlish, an attorney, in Williamsburg, Va. which were pasted into a volume. Includes receipt for the whipping of slaves and for a subscription for Randolph-Macon College.

One page letter from Colonel Robert W. West to Mrs. Lucy Tucker, Mrs. Lucy Hausford, and Mi[f]s. Emily Morrison dated 29 November 1863.  It is a summons for the ladies to return to Mrs. Vest's home in Williamsburg, all of the property they took without permission.  He requests them to comply within a week or he threatened to send colored troops to their homes to search and remove the items for them.

Letters and papers; 1730-1950, of the Robertson family. Also includes genealogical material concerning the family of William B. Robertson, Lynchburg, Va. with references to Archibald Robertson, Mary Robertson, Robert S. Robertson, and Wyndham Robertson. Also includes genealogical information on the Waller, Macon, Garland, and Meredith families.

Account book of an unidentified farmer living at "Rock Spring Farm" perhaps located near Richmond, Va. The account book was kept in a book which had been used in 1809 for accounts concerning the Virginia penitentiary. The volume contains information concerning the names, ages, and value of slaves.

Consists 4 volumes of tax records for Walker's Creek, Rockbridge County: Virginia Land Books for 1901-1902, and Personal Property Books for 1902 and 1915.

Foe a more detailed description, provided by the seller, see findingaid link below.

Receipt book, 1833, of Hiram Martz, Smith's Creek, Rockingham County, Va. for road claims and county levies allowed by the county court of Rockingham County. The volume includes notes and household inventory, 1855, of Benjamin Franklin Matthews Martz.

Judgement and execution book, 1838-1849, of John Ruff, Justice of the Peace, of Rockbridge County, Virginiaa. which concerns judgements involving money and their implementation.

Poll book, 1782-1810, for election of delegates to the General Assembly from Rockbridge County, Virginia.

Register book, 1901-1906, kept for the Central School District, Rockingham County, Va. by teachers B. B. Mitchell, Blanche Schauhaltzer, J. N. Dunning, and J. M. Anderson.

Journal, 1867-1869, of an unidentified merchant, of McGaheysville, Rockingham County, Va. 487 p. : bound volume ; 39 cm.

Journal, 1868, of an unidentified merchant at Waverlie, Rockingham County, Va. which includes the 1872 journal of another unidentified merchant.

Ledger, 1865-1867, of an unidentified merchant in northern Rockingham County, Va.

Three ledgers and one inventory book (Memorandum Book of Stock on Hand) of an unknown merchant.  All are undated and written in pencil.  Per the 1920 census, many of the names in these books are from Rockingham County, Virginia.