Taylor, Zachary, 1784-1850
Person
Found in 3 Collections and/or Records:
Letter to Mrs. E. T. Ellecott from Unknown
Collection
Identifier: SC 00499
Scope and Contents
Letter from an unknown friend to Mrs. E. T. Ellecott, Lee's Ferry, Montgomery County, Virginia about the election of [Zachary] Taylor, court matters and financial matters. Circa 1848.
Dates:
1848 June
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas W. Thomas Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 T36
Scope and Contents
Papers, chiefly 1834-1863, of Thomas W. Thomas, soldier, lawyer, and judge of Elberton, GA concerning his law practice and his friendship with US Senator Robert Toombs. His papers primarily concern his various legal cases, but also discuss politics, the Civil War, and other topics sporadically. Included in the collection are papers, 1834-1864, of Drury B. Cade who operated a canal boat on the Savannah River. Items of special interest include letter, 3 April 1842, from John Reeves Jones...
Dates:
1809-1915; Majority of material found in 1834-1863
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lucy A. Tucker Letter to Mary P. Mosby
Collection
Identifier: SC 01609
Scope and Contents
Two page letter expressing thanks for a brooch sent to her daughter, Cynthia, and instructions, along with money, for Mary to make hats for her boys and to buy material for corsets. Lucy also mentions her husband, Nathaniel's, teaching endeavors at William and Mary. He was teaching a law class with only 10 students per her report. Additionally, Lucy comments on the dull times in Williamsburg and her difficulty in regard to raising spirits over Zachary Taylor's election to President of...
Dates:
1848 November 23
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Additional filters:
- Subject
- College of William and Mary--History 1
- Correspondence 1
- Financial records 1
- Legal documents 1
- Montgomery County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
- Presidents--United States--Election--1848 1
- Savannah River (Ga. and S.C.) 1
- Tailoring--Virginia--19th century 1
- United States--Antebellum South--History 1
- United States--Economic history 1
- United States--Georgia--History 1
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
- United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 1
- United States--Judges 1
- United States--Lawyers 1
- United States--Politics and Government 1 + ∧ less
∨ more