Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958

 Person

Found in 4 Collections and/or Records:

James Branch Cabell Papers (II)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C11
Scope and Contents

Copies of letters written by Cabell at Richmond and Poynton Lodge, Ophelia, Va. and at St. Augustine, Florida to Rawlings concerning their literary work and also concerning the author, Ellen Glasgow. Includes one letter from Cabell to Frank Daniel and one letter to Rawlings from Margaret Waller Freeman Cabell. Originals in Majorie Kinnan Rawlings Collection, Rare Book Section, University of Florida Libraries.

James Branch Cabell Papers (III)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01077
Scope and Contents Letters, 1925-1934, to and from James Branch Cabell of "Dumbarton Grange," Dumbarton, Va. and Richmond, Va. and while at "Cayford Cottage," Mountain Lake, Va. Correspondents include Sydney S. Alberts (concerning Beyond Life and The White Robe), R. H. Barlow (concerning Special Delivery, Smirt, and the gift of two pewter animals), [?] Hills (concerning the negative effect of newspaper experience on writing), Allen Lucy (concerning the production by the Palo Alto Community Players of The Jewel...

James Branch Cabell Papers (IV)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.37
Scope and Contents

Galley proofs of the first edition of James Branch Cabell's "Chivalry", annotated by Cabell for the second edition (1921).

Kenney Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00916
Scope and Contents

Collection consists of two letters both of which concern the use of true events in fictional writing. The first, 2 February 1951, is from James Branch Cabell to [?] Cope; and the second, 27 October 1951, is from Mary Raymond Shipman Andrews to Mrs. [Reginald ?] Kenney.

Filtered By

  • Subject: American literature--20th century X

Additional filters:

Subject
Authors, American--20th century 3
Correspondence 2
History in literature 1
Photocopies 1
Publications 1