Education--North Carolina
Person
Found in 2 Collections and/or Records:
Burwell-Catlett Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 B95
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, 1794-1887, of the Burwell family of Virginia, North Carolina, Alabama, and Mississippi. Includes letters of Mary Cole Turnbull Burwell and her children including Armistead Burwell, Benjamin Powell Burwell, Frances King Burwell Catlett, Robert Burwell, William T. Burwell (at the United States Military Academy), Charles Blair Burwell, and concerning these children and her other children Elizabeth Margaret Burwell Putnam and Anne Burwell Garland.Subjects include...
Dates:
1794-1887
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Obelia "Bee" Graves Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.123
Scope and Contents
This collection contains letters to Obelia "Bee" Graves, from her family and friends, while she attended Winston-Salem Teachers College in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. The institution is presently known as Winston-Salem State University. Winston-Salem Teachers College was the first historically black college to grant bachelors degrees in elementary school education. The collection also includes college documents from her time at college such as report cards and her admission acceptance....
Dates:
1936-1945; Majority of material found in 1937-1939
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Filtered By
- Subject: Correspondence X
Additional filters:
- Subject
- African American women--Education 1
- African Americans 1
- Education--Alabama 1
- Education--Virginia--History 1
- Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
- Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
- Manuscripts (document genre) 1
- Marriage--United States--History--19th century 1
- Photographs 1
- Recessions -- United States 1
- Report cards 1
- Slaves--United States--Correspondence 1
- Slaves--Virginia--Correspondence 1
- United States Military Academy 1
- Women college students 1
- World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 1 + ∧ less
∨ more