Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935
Person
Found in 5 Collections and/or Records:
Alexander Brown Papers (I)
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 B83
Scope and Contents
Inventory contains the papers of Alexander Brown (1843-1906), farmer, merchant and author who lived in Nelson County, Virginia. Includes correspondence relating to his books, The Genesis of the United States, The First Republic in America, The Cabells and Their Kin, New Views, and other correspondence and business papers of Brown including letters...
Dates:
1815-1910
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Henry Denison Cole Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents
Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....
Dates:
1786-1939
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
College Papers Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 14
Scope and Contents
This collection includes a variety of material formats and subjects from throughout the College's history.
Dates:
circa 1880s-1990s
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Fairfax Harrison Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...
Dates:
1736-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tyler Family Papers, Group A
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...
Dates:
1716-1946
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Additional filters:
- Subject
- Account books 3
- Minutes 3
- Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 3
- College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
- Diaries 2
- Education--Virginia--History--19th century 2
- Legal documents 2
- Photographs 2
- Slavery--Virginia--19th century 2
- African Americans--Virginia--Suffrage 1
- American diaries--Women authors 1
- Awards and scholarships 1
- Broadsides 1
- Buildings and Grounds--Fires--1859 1
- Charter Day 1
- Church of England--Virginia--History 1
- College of William and Mary--History--17th century 1
- College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
- College of William and Mary--History--20th century 1
- Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
- Course work 1
- Debt, Imprisonment for--Virginia 1
- Democratic Party (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
- Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--18th century 1
- Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 1
- Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
- Horses--Virginia 1
- Indians of North America--Virginia 1
- Letter books 1
- Lynchburg 1
- Lynchburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
- Medicine--Prescriptions--19th century 1
- Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 1
- Merchants--Virginia--Lynchburg 1
- Nelson County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
- Notebooks 1
- Parishes--Virginia 1
- Patronage, Political--United States--History 1
- Petitions 1
- Photography, Stereoscopic 1
- Photostats 1
- Plantations--Virginia--Nelson County 1
- Prince William County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
- Private Libraries 1
- Programs 1
- Receipts (financial records) 1
- Reports 1
- Scrapbooks 1
- Sherwood Forest (Virginia : Estate) 1
- Slavery--Virginia--18th century 1
- Slides (photographs) 1
- Speeches 1
- Stereographs 1
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
- United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
- United States--History--Revolutionary War--Hospitals 1
- United States--History--War of 1812 1
- United States--Politics and Government 1
- United States--Presidents 1
- United States--Revolutionary War--1775-1783 1
- Virginia--History--18th century 1
- Virginia--History--19th century 1
- Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
- Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775--Historiography 1
- Virginia--Religious history 1
- Virginia. Constitutional Convention (1901-1902) 1
- Virginia. Militia. Wise Light Infantry 1
- Voting--Virginia--History 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Post Office 1
- Women--Education--Virginia--History 1
- Women--History--Virginia 1
- Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1 + ∧ less
∨ more