Skip to main content

Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.)

 Organization

Found in 4 Collections and/or Records:

Bucktrout-Braithwaite Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 B85
Scope and Contents Chiefly business correspondence and receipts, 1890-1920, of members of the Bucktrout and Braithwaite families of Williamsburg, Va. Among the correspondents are Hypolite Repiton, R. W. Bucktrout, D. Braithwaite, Richard M. Bucktrout and James Braithwaite. Descriptions of selected accessions: Acc. 1995.25: Bucktrout-Braithwaite Papers including copy of "Family Sites and the Restoration of Williamsburg" and an account of Christmas wedding of Delia Bucktrout to William...
Dates: 1780-1996; Majority of material found in 1890-1899
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Fay Parr Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.50
Scope and Contents

The collection contains papers documenting the lives of the Fay Parr family. The collection also includes Williamsburg ephemera and memorabilia. Other materials contained in the collection includes family photograph albums, press photographs of Williamsburg residents as well as buildings, newspaper clippings of events in Williamsburg, Virginia as well as publications from Williamsburg and other places.

Dates: 1920-2002
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William H. E. Morecock Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00110
Scope and Contents

Civil War correspondence, passes and orders relating to 1st Lieutenant William H.E. Morecock of the 32nd Virginia Volunteer Regiment.  Legal documents of William H. E. Morecock, mostly concerning the lawsuit in Williamsburg and James City County, McCandlish vs Warburton, during 1851 to 1853.  Correspondence and financial records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary while William H.E. Morecock was Secretary of the Board, 1877-1890.

Dates: 1850-1890
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Glenna G. Shiflett Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00695
Scope and Contents

Glenna Shiflett's papers concerning the Twentieth-Century Gallery (This Century Gallery) of Williamsburg, her teaching career in public schools and tax and other documents for property on Richmond Road in Williamsburg, Virginia owned by her and her husband, Thomas Shiflett.

Dates: 1961-1993
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X
  • Subject: Legal documents X

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 2
Genealogy 2
Photographs 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 2
∨ more
Bibles 1
Building Permits--Virginia 1
Calendars 1
Certificates 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
Financial records 1
James City County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Jamestown Festival (1957) 1
Lawyers--Virginia--James City County 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Military records 1
Newspapers 1
Oral histories 1
Orders (military records) 1
Pamphlets 1
Postcards 1
Printed ephemera 1
Programs 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Reporters and reporting. 1
Schools--Virginia--James City County 1
Schools--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Scrapbooks 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 1
Women teachers 1
+ ∧ less