College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae
Organization
Found in 2 Collections and/or Records:
John Lesslie Hall, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 H14
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1937-1973, of Admiral John Lesslie Hall, Jr. of Williamsburg and Alexandria, Va. and while stationed at Pearl Harbor, San Francisco and Norfolk, Va. The papers are both personal and professional. The collection contains material concerning World War II Operations TORCH (North Africa), BIGOT-HUSKY, AVALANCHE (Salerno), NEPTUNE-OVERLORD, and as well as the Army-Navy joint agreement on Normandy. Also includes material pertaining to his work with the USO, the Naval War College, Army War...
Dates:
1893-1973
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Tuthill Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.03
Scope and Contents
Papers of John Wills Tuthill, a United States 20th century diplomat. The collection includes papers from Tuthill's years as a student and professor, his State Department career, his private career with international organizations and his retirement years. He held many positions within the State Department, mostly in Germany and Europe, with his final posting as Ambassador to Brazil. As a private citizen, he was Director of the Atlantic Institute, President of the Salzburg Seminar, and...
Dates:
1933-1998
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Additional filters:
- Subject
- African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
- Ambassadors--United States--20th century 1
- Brazil--Description and travel 1
- Brazil--History--1930-1954 1
- Brazil--Politics and government--1930-1954 1
- Civil rights--United States--History--20th century 1
- European Economic Community 1
- Germany--Economic conditions--1945-1955 1
- Manuscripts (document genre) 1
- Notebooks 1
- Operation Neptune 1
- Operation Overlord 1
- Operation Torch 1
- Oral histories 1
- Pamphlets 1
- Reports 1
- Speeches 1
- United States--Commerce--Europe 1
- United States--Foreign relations 1
- United States. Foreign Service 1
- United States. Navy--History--World War, 1939-1945 1
- World War, 1939-1945--European Front 1 + ∧ less
∨ more