Virginia Historical Society
Organization
Found in 4 Collections and/or Records:
Charles Campbell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C17
Scope and Contents
The Charles Campbell papers consist of papers received or collected by Charles Campbell (1807-1876), Virginia historian. The papers fall into four general headings: historical papers collected by Charles Campbell, correspondence, manuscript volumes, and miscellaneous. These include personal and professional correspondence as well as eighteenth century documents collected by Charles Campbell, newspaper clippings, diaries, scrapbooks, and notebooks, covering then period 1743-1896. The papers...
Dates:
1743-1896
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Peyton Rode Carrington Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 00218
Scope and Contents
Account of Sales, mostly of books and related items, made by George W. Mayo, Auctioneer, for Peyton R. Carrington, 1887. Letter to Peyton R. Carrington informing him that he has been elected a member of the Virginia Historical Society, November 14, 1882.
Dates:
1882, 1887
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tyler Family Papers, Group B
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group B
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1868-1951, of Lyon Gardiner Tyler, his wives Anne Baker Tucker Tyler and Sue Ruffin Tyler and his descendants. Includes personal correspondence and correspondence relating to American Historical Association, Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Colonial Williamsburg, Cooperative Education Commission of Virginia, Equal Suffrage League of Virginia, Jamestown Exposition, New York Southern Society, Sons of the Revolution, Virginia Board of Education, Virginia...
Dates:
1868-1951
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Historical Index - Fairfax Harrison Family Correspondence
Collection
Identifier: SC 00877
Scope and Contents
Correspondence to and from members of the Fairfax Harrison Family regarding the Virginia Historical Index and ownership of the publishing rights. Individuals involved are Fairfax Harrison, Mrs. Ursula Harrison Baird, Mrs. Sally Harrison Dieke, Earl Gregg Swem and G. Jeter Jones of the First and Merchants National Bank. Upon the death of Mrs. Hetty Fairfax Harrison, lawyers were trying to determine who had the publishing rights to the Virginia Historical Index. Correspondence...
Dates:
1927-1960
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Additional filters:
- Subject
- Account books 2
- Correspondence 2
- Manuscripts (document genre) 2
- Scrapbooks 2
- Auctions--Virginia 1
- Booksellers and bookselling--Virginia 1
- Broadsides 1
- Catalogs 1
- College of William and Mary--History 1
- Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
- Diaries 1
- Education--Study and teaching 1
- Education--Virginia--History 1
- Fliers (printed matter) 1
- Jamestown Exposition (1907) 1
- Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 1
- Pamphlets 1
- Petersburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
- Poems 1
- Railroads--Virginia--History 1
- Slaves--Virginia--Correspondence 1
- Slaves--Virginia--Social conditions 1
- Textbooks 1
- Typescripts 1
- United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
- United States--Slavery 1
- Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 1
- Virginia--Genealogy 1
- Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1
- Virginia--Maps 1
- Virginia--Politics and Government 1
- Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 1
- Yorktown (Va.)--History--Siege, 1781--Centennial celebrations, etc 1 + ∧ less
∨ more