Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

World War, 1914-1918

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 55 Collections and/or Records:

Letters to Max Linder

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01646
Scope and Contents Two letters addressed to Max Linder from his friends, Carl Hoger, and Carl Hoesel. Both discuss the duties they have as Army soldiers stationed in France during World War I. One work in the mess hall and the other reports of his schooling for machine guns. Both despise the cloudy and rainy weather of France and indicate that their health and spirits are high despite one having recently recovered from the flu.

Harry Turner Lewis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2015.077
Scope and Contents This collection consists of diaries and memorandum books that belonged to Harry Turner Lewis, who served as a captain in the United States Army during World War I, and later became the national Vice-Commander of the Disabled Emergency Officers of the World War. There are 22 diaries in the collection, and they document the years 1906-1907, 1920-1922, 1924-1927, 1929, and 1931-1942. The diaries feature numerous descriptions of Lewis' dealings in Washington, D.C. as he lobbied for injured veteran...

Lewis Peyton Little Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 L72
Scope and Contents Papers, 1918-1936, of Lewis Peyton Little, a Baptist minister in Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes correspondence and notes concerning his duties as a chaplain in World War I and the writing of his books. There are drafts of his "Imprisoned Preachers and Religious Liberty in Virginia" (Lynchburg, Virginia., J.P. Bell Co., 1938) and of an unpublished work entitled "The Battle of Bethel".

Lois M. Ross Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01352
Content Description Four page letter to Lois Ross from Raymond Ross dated November 8, 1918. He tells her that he is somewhere in Belgium and that this is his fourth front line assignment. He reports that he likes Belgium much better than France. Additionally, he mentions that he participated in the Battle of Argonne Forest and inquires if she had heard about it.26 page letter from James Crawford to his classmate, Lois Ross from Clarksville High School in Clarksville, Ohio dated April 24, 1919. James...

Lucian B. Dickerson Diary (Europe)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00451
Scope and Contents This collection contains the diary of Lucian B. Dickerson, a doctor who served during World War I. He is first stationed at a hospital in Roselle, New Jersey. For a brief while he was also stationed at Camp Merritt, New Jersey. He set sail from Hoboken, New Jersey aboard the RMS Aurania on January 8, 1918. During the journey, he describes the damage from the Halifax Explosion, which had happened approximately a month previous. Once in Europe, he describes his journeys with the advancing U.S....

Myers-Burrage-Graham Papers (I) Group A

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 98 M99 Group A
Scope and Contents Group A;  Papers of Moses Myers, and his sons Samuel Myers (1790-1829) lawyer in Norfolk and Pensacola, Fla. and John Myers (1787-1830) merchant of Norfolk. Includes papers of Barton Myers (1853-1927), mayor of Norfolk, Va. and his family.

Myers-Burrage-Graham Papers (I) Group B

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 98 M99 Group B
Scope and Contents Papers, 1886-1942, of Vice-Admiral Guy Hamilton Burrage. Includes commissions, orders, correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks and medals. Includes material relating to his command of the "U. S. S. Nebraska" during World War I and the "U. S. S. Memphis" which returned Charles A. Lindbergh from Paris after his historic flight. There are also papers relating to his involvement in an attempt to resolve the Lindbergh kidnapping case in 1932. Addition to this...

Offley Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.164
Scope and Contents This collection details the history of the Offley Family from 1826 to 1916 through correspondences, diaries, photographs and personal effects. Its creators include multiple generations of Offleys and their associates. The papers provide insight into the daily life of the era as well as major geopolitical events such as the Greek War of Independence, the Spanish-American War, the Philippine-American War, the 1906 San Francisco Earthquake, and World War I. Many of the Offleys served in the United...

H. A. Porger Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00832
Scope and Contents Diary of H.A. Porger of Duluth, Minnesota for the year 1917. Porger was a shipyard worker, whose entries describe work, leisure activities, as well as World War I mobilization in this hometown.The following description was provided by the seller:"... writes about going to the Orpheum to see the shows with dancers, attending a Burlesque show, getting drunk, attending a stag party, going to a "rough neck" dance and a masquerade dance, dances at the "Lakewood Chateau",...

Porter Wilson Letter to the Black Steel and Wire Company

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01408
Content Description Three page letter from Private Porter Wilson of the 34th Engineers in France to the Black Steel and Wire Company inquiring about the status of his job or the possibility of getting a new one from them upon his return from active service in the war.