Skip to main content

World War, 1939-1945

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 157 Collections and/or Records:

Michael F. Groom Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00071
Scope and Contents

One letter from Michael F. Groom to Genny Nackard dated October 30, 1945.  Groom served with the 716th Signal Air Warning Company and writes from Washington State.  In his letter he talked of getting out of the Army and longing to be home.

Dates: 1945 October 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Howard Emmons Morgan, Jr. Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00272
Scope and Contents 99 letters and photographs from Howard Emmons Morgan, Jr. who served in the Army in a segregated unit during World War II as part of Company A of the 949th Air Base Security Regiment and later the 1322nd Engineers General Service Regiment based out of Camp Swift, Texas and Hawaii. Most of his active service was in Hawaii and the South Pacific and Morgan comments at length about his observations of the flora and fauna of these areas. Morgan identifies as a Ramapough Mountain Indian and...
Dates: 1943-1945
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Beatrice Nalser Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01045
Scope and Contents Letters, written between November 1943 to January 1944 and November 1944 to January 1945. Letters were written by Beatrice Nalser, who was a member of the Navy's WAVES (Women Accepted for Volunteer Emergency Service) program. She was an Aviation Machinist Mate Third Class Petty Officer, later being promoted to the position of First Class Petty Officer. Her letters are written from Naval Air Station, Norfolk, Virginia, and written to her parents in East Liverpool, Ohio. Her correspondence...
Dates: 1943-1945
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Nancy Kessler Letters to Louis Kessler

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01401
Content Description

Series of letters from Nancy Kessler to her husband, Louis, while he served in the United States Navy as a quartermaster and was stationed in Norfolk, Virginia from 1944-1945.

Dates: 1944-1945
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Elizabeth Nunn Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1991.51 and 2000.33
Scope and Contents

Papers of Elizabeth Nunn, an elementary school teacher in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1931-1975
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Walter F. Oehlman Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00257
Content Description The collection consists of 173 letters written by Walter F. Oehlman, Pvt., U.S. Army, to his wartime sweetheart, Grace Brunjes, of Glendale, Long Island, New York. The first letter is dated April 10, 1943; the last one is dated September 21, 1945. These letters span the period from his enlistment in November 1943 to his discharge in October 1945, when he was 32-34 years old.Other noteworthy letters are two from his mother, which he subsequently enclosed in letters to Grace. ...
Dates: 1942-1945
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Patrick Arnold Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01400
Content Description

Series of letters addressed to Patrick Arnold from family and friends while stationed on the USS Bronson (DD-668) out of Charleston, South Carolina, the USS Howorth (DD-592), and at the Naval Recruiting Station in Washington, D.C. from 1944-1949.

Dates: 1944-1949
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Paul A. Carpenter Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00228
Content Description The Paul A. Carpenter Letters consists of incoming correspondence and Vmail from family and friends. The letters date from 1942-1945, with the bulk written in 1945. Much of the content discusses the home front: the change of seasons, canning berries and peas, poetry, movies, and new novels such as “Forever Amber”. Paul Carpenter’s parents, J.E. and Albina Carpenter, sent local newspaper clippings with their letters, sharing news of other Kenton, Ohio soldiers and sailors and announcements...
Dates: 1942-1945
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Amelia Jastrebski Perkins and Charles S. Perkins, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00278
Scope and Contents

Amelia "Jeb" Jastrebski's W&M College Scrapbook, 1936-1940

"Scraps" by Charles S. Perkins, Jr., 1937-1939 - assorted ticket stubs, playbills, etc.

"The War Years" scrapbook by Charles S. Perkins, Jr., 1944-1945 - primarily WWII memorabilia with some post-war work-related correspondence

File of related clipppings, photos, etc.

Dates: 1936-1945
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Ardessa L. Coffee Pitts Letters

 Collection — Box 1
Identifier: MS 00233
Content Description About 70 letters, telegrams and greeting cards from Ardessa (Dess) L. Coffee Pitts to her husband, Private Madison F. Pitts, who served with the 335th Aviation Squadron at Douglas Army Air Field (D.A.A.F) in Arizona during World War II. Most of the letters are personal in nature and express Ardessa's loneliness and desire for children. She also shared physical ailments and how she felt stress aged her. The letters include pledges of fidelity and sexual innuendos. Ardessa also frequently...
Dates: 1944 February- June
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lina Nancy Potter Papers

 Collection — Box Small Collections Box 82, Folder: 1
Identifier: SC 01198
Scope and Contents Correspondence, photographs, and military papers concerning the World War II service of 2nd Lt. A.N.C. Lina Nancy Potter (1901-1975) of Narragansett, Rhode Island. Potter enlisted in the United States Armed Forces in 1942 and served as a nurse in a military hospital in India from 1943-1945. This collection consists of 23 letters of her outgoing wartime correspondence to family (her Aunt Harriet E. Weaver and Uncle Charles Weaver of Rhode Island) in the United States, her military papers, and...
Dates: 1942-1945
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Office of the President. John Edwin Pomfret Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.11
Scope and Contents Due to the fragility of this collection, patrons must use the microfilm copy. The microfilm and microfilm readers can be found on the Ground Floor of Swem Library (call number LD6051 .W517 1942 P66, reels 1-28). Acc. 1982.055: Records of College President John E. Pomfret (1942-1951). For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventory available here....
Dates: 1942-1951
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Preston Letters to Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Bennett

 Collection — Box 1
Identifier: MS 00227
Content Description Correspondence from William (Billy) Preston to his sister and brother-in-law, Ruth and Ralph Bennett, primarily mailed during World War II (1940-1945) with a few letters sent from 1946-1960. The collection includes 120 handwritten and typed letters and postcards; black and white photographs; a Western Union telegram; and newspaper clippings. It is arranged chronologically. The correspondence is detailed and legible, with description of U.S. Army experience in North America (training, duties,...
Dates: 1940-1960; Majority of material found within 1941-1945
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Horace Ray and Sam P. Collins Correspondence

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01692
Scope and Contents

Correspondence from Horace Ray and Sam P. Collins to their sister and brother-in-law while each was serving in World War II. Letters, V-Mail, and postcards are sent from the United States, Sicily, and an unnamed African country. The materials also includes blank V-Mail envelopes, receipts from the Inman Gin, located in Inman, South Carolina; and blank stationery from the 56th Air Disarmament Squadron, the U.S. Air Force, McClellan Field, and the Sacramento Air Depot.

Dates: 1941-1945 and undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Ray Woodall Letter to Charles and Mrs. Woodall

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00511
Content Description

VMail post letter from Ray Woodall to his parents to let them know he is well, missed home, but has plenty to do to keep him busy at his current post. He asks about friends at home, his father's plans for the land he prepared to plant, and also that they write as often as they can even though the mail is incredibly slow.

Dates: 1943-05-20
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Raymond Woodsmall, Jr. Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00066
Scope and Contents

One letter from Raymond Woodsmall, Jr. to Mary Bedingfield.  Woodsmall served in World War II in Company I of the 3rd Battalion, 1st C.W.S. Infantry Regiment.  The letter is dated November 28, 1942.

Dates: 1942 November 28
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Reed Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2010.055
Scope and Contents This collection contains the papers and biographic material, 1899-1946, of the Reed family of Floyd County, Virgina and Warren, Ohio. Included are personal letters and photographs, as well as  records relating to service of family members in WWI and WWII.  The correspondence series consists largely of personal letters written by Asa Daniel Reed to his future wife, Clarence Elizabeth Mangus (later Clarence Elizabeth Reed), during Reed's service in the U.S. Army.  Reed's assignments included...
Dates: 1899-1946; Majority of material found in 1910-1946
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Eleanor Harvey Rennie Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.055
Scope and Contents This collection includes material gathered by then William and Mary student Eleanor Harvey related to the christening of the  SS William and Mary Victory  on April 20, 1945. Photographs, news clippings, scrapbook, and the wooden chest holding the broken champagne bottle used in the launch are available. Miss Harvey was the sponsor at the launch and Edith Harwood was the maid of honor.A photo of the champagne bottle can be seen on Flickr:...
Dates: 1945
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Ridell Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.022
Scope and Contents

The Ridell Family papers is primarily correspondence between Robert Calvin Ridell and his parents in Kerny, Nebraska. There is also correspondence from other family members, friends, and others. Ridell is nearly always addressed as Calvin. Ridell was a member of the United States Navy and correspondence dates from his time in training and while he was deployed at sea during World War II. Much of the correspondence and other printed material in the collection is from 1943-1946.

Dates: 1943-1945
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robb-Bernard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...
Dates: 1665-2001; Majority of material found in 1850-1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Samuel Robison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2011.526
Scope and Contents Papers, 1942-1949, of Samuel Robison of Alabama, an officer in the Army Air Force based in the United States during World War II. Robison was frequently restationed throughout Texas and California during the war, holding positions at Brooks Field, Ellington Field, Randolph Field, Blackland Army Air Base, Kelly Field, Stinson Field, San Bernardino Army Air Field, Santa Ana Army Air Base, and elsewhere. The collection includes extensive records documenting Robison's reassignments and...
Dates: 1942-1949
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Rollin C. Shearer Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00069
Scope and Contents

One letter from Lieutenant Rollin C. Shearer to Sergent Tony Yulana.  Shearer served with the 313th Air Transport Squadron, 31st Air Transport Group.  In his letter he talks about flying and Paris.

Dates: 1944 November 26
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 71 R75
Scope and Contents Professional and personal papers of Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. who was a newspaper writer and columnist and an author of books on Virginia. His personal correspondence covers his college years at Washington and Lee University; his years in the Navy during World War II; his early career while working in Richmond, Virginia and Newport News, Virginia; and his business affairs. His college and Navy letters include not only the letters he wrote home, but the letters he received from...
Dates: 1930-1998
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Ruby Miller Letters to Herman Doesburg, 1942-1943

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00300
Scope and Contents Forty-six letters written by Ruby Miller, an Akron, Ohio, woman to Herman Doesburg, Miller's enlisted boyfriend at the U.S. Army’s Edgewood Arsenal in Maryland, during World War II, plus two letters to him from his parents.Ruby M. Miller worked in Akron in situations she variously identifies as a shop, a plant, a press, and a store. Herman Doesburg was assigned to the Chemical Warfare Service at Edgewood Arsenal. The first letter in the collection, dated 1942 March 10, was...
Dates: 1942-1943
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

S. Allen Rubin Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00202
Content Description 44 letters from Seymour Allen Rubin to his new wife, Eleanor Mariana, dated 1941- 1943. First Rubin enlisted at Fort Lee, Virginia and received his basic training from Camp Wheeler, Georgia where many of his letters are from. Most of the letters deal with their new marriage, possibly done in secrecy before Rubin went to basic training, and the tenuous relationships with his family members. Rubin served in the 938th Howitzer Anti- Aircraft Unit and was wounded during the war, though his...
Dates: 1941- 1943
Found in: Special Collections Research Center