Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

World War, 1939-1945

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 154 Collections and/or Records:

Ruby Miller Letters to Herman Doesburg, 1942-1943

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00300
Scope and Contents Forty-six letters written by Ruby Miller, an Akron, Ohio, woman to Herman Doesburg, Miller's enlisted boyfriend at the U.S. Army’s Edgewood Arsenal in Maryland, during World War II, plus two letters to him from his parents.Ruby M. Miller worked in Akron in situations she variously identifies as a shop, a plant, a press, and a store. Herman Doesburg was assigned to the Chemical Warfare Service at Edgewood Arsenal. The first letter in the collection, dated 1942 March 10, was...

S. Allen Rubin Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00202
Content Description 44 letters from Seymour Allen Rubin to his new wife, Eleanor Mariana, dated 1941- 1943. First Rubin enlisted at Fort Lee, Virginia and received his basic training from Camp Wheeler, Georgia where many of his letters are from. Most of the letters deal with their new marriage, possibly done in secrecy before Rubin went to basic training, and the tenuous relationships with his family members. Rubin served in the 938th Howitzer Anti- Aircraft Unit and was wounded during the war, though his...

John A. Sabenski Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01512
Scope and Contents Letters to Nettie about life in the army in Europe. Mentions Red Cross Christmas entertainment.

Ed Sanderbeck Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00236
Content Description Mostly envelopes of letters Ed Sanderbeck sent to his wife Fay Weekley from 1941- 1945 while he served in the United States Air Force during World War II. The envelopes have notes written to Fay, but the letters have been removed and are not with the envelopes. Notes discuss his life in the military as he was stationed in Australia, New Guinea, the Philippines, and Korea, and his unit's success at shooting down Japanese planes. Almost 350 envelopes in total, includes some Vmail and some...

Matilda Sapieha-Kodenski Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01193
Scope and Contents Acc. 2007.77 consist of thirteen letters, 1942-1944, written by Polish-Lithuanian Princess Matilda Bornemisza de Kaszon Sapieha-Kodenski (b. 1894) while residing in the United States during the World War II period. Her outgoing correspondence written from Pennsylvania and Florida document the perspective of a Polish American during the wartime period. Her letters express explicit anti-Semitic views, distaste for Bolshevism, Nazism, the fate of Poland, the lack of Allied help given to Poland,...

Phillip O. Sevain Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01499
Scope and Contents Letter to Paul G. Strong Jr. about life at Camp Croft, SC. Phillip mentions not having much to do and plans to try and visit Paul soon.

Frank Shatz Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1994.11, Acc. 1994.77, Acc. 1995.58
Scope and Contents Correspondence and papers of Frank Shatz of Lake Placid, New York and Williamsburg, Virginia, 1965-2009. Subject matter of the collection is foreign policy, the Lake Placid Council on Foreign Policy, public funding for libraries and public television and radio, the endowment of the Reves Center for International Studies at the College of William and Mary and more. Includes Frank Shatz's World Focus columns from the Virginia Gazette.Cassette tapes in all the accessions have been...

Sixty-Seventh Field Hospital Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.35
Scope and Contents The 67th Field Hospital Collection contains documents and photographs depicting the history of the 67th Field Hospital during the European Theater of World War II and the 17 reunions of the 67th Field Hospital held from 1986 to 2002.

Steuben Society of America, Carl Schurz Unit 993, Springfield, Massachusetts Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00165
Scope and Contents Two scrapbooks of the Steuben Society of America, Carl Schurz Unit 993, Springfield, Massachusetts chapter. The scrapbooks include minutes, newspaper clippings, invitations, programs, membership lists and procedures. Meetings often include comments about World War II and the response of their unit and the National Society.

Strout Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.22 and 2008.23
Scope and Contents Correspondence between Strout family members during World War II and the Vietnam War. The Strout family lives in Milbridge, Maine. Includes certificates and publications from each era. Herbert C. Strout, WWII, was stationed in Germany at the close of the war. Jerry L. Stout, Vietnam War, was a member of the 132nd Assault Support Helicopter Company and served two tours. The World War II correspondence was accessioned as Mss. Acc. 2008.23 and the Vietnam War material was accessioned...