Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

California--History--1850-1950

 Subject
Subject Source: Library Of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 5 Collections and/or Records:

Abby Edwards Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00992
Scope and Contents Diary, 1911-1913, of Abby Edwards of Riverside California. Includes information about Edwards' trips to the beach, her depression and treatments for it, people that she visited, and events she attended, among others. There is also a letter, 1897, from Frank Edwards to Abby that was tucked inside the diary.

Caley Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.192
Scope and Contents The collection is mostly personal correspondence and diaries, chiefly 1895-1968, collected and written by Mary Davidson Caley, her two daughters, Maybelle Caley Barker and Hilda Caley Noble, and Hilda’s daughter, Nadine Noble Sondergard. The Caley’s were white middle class women who lived in Sierra Madre, California for the majority of their lives.  The personal letters and diaries of three generations of women contain topics related to the household operations, Spanish Flu 1918, farm...

Philip P. Hines Diary and Bible

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00194
Scope and Contents Diary of Philip P. Hines who had a Quartz claim near New Town, California. Dr. Hines visits Rough and Ready and Nevada, California. During 1851, Hines was too ill with pain and bowel problems to work his claim, so worked for one month as a physician in the hospital. The diary tells of his illness, attempts to get money so he can go home, and feelings about the depravity of the town. Dr. Hines states that he prays to God each day to allow him to see his family before he dies. Includes Hines'...

Offley Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.164
Scope and Contents This collection details the history of the Offley Family from 1826 to 1916 through correspondences, diaries, photographs and personal effects.  Its creators include multiple generations of Offleys and their associates.  The papers provide insight into the daily life of the era as well as major geopolitical events such as the Greek War of Independence,  the Spanish-American War, the Philippine-American War, the 1906 San Francisco Earthquake,  and World War I.  Many of the Offleys served in the...

William J. Duckwall Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00998
Scope and Contents Account book of pioneer William J. Duckwall containing entries that document his business activities in Sonora, Tuolumne County, California. Duckwall was involved in the cattle business. He lists items he has purchased, items purchased from him and payments to workers with references to ranches, mining companies, cattle, lumber, tobacco and horses. He notes the prices paid for livestock, goods and services, workers' meals and other items. Accounts are with miners and farmers in the area. ...