Skip to main content

College of William and Mary--Students

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 380 Collections and/or Records:

International Student Services Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 245
Scope and Contents

This collection includes fliers of information for international students at the College of William and Mary, including Friendship International and the Global Friends Program.

Dates: 1998-2004
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

J. H. Garnett Athletic Association Certificate

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.261
Scope and Contents

Certificate presented by the William & Mary Athletic Association to J. H. Garnett, certifying that he has been awarded the varsity letter in track for the 1924 season.

Dates: 1924
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

J. Paul Essex Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.020
Scope and Contents This scrapbook holds photographs of the College of William and Mary.  Included are images of several buildings, such as (but not limited to) the old gymnasium (demolished in 1931), several dormitories for both women and men, the dining hall, and Lake Matoaka.  There is also a photograph of the 1923 women's basketball team and individual shots of each player. The scrapbook also includes images of President Warren G. Harding's visit to campus in 1921. Additionally,...
Dates: 1921-1923
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

J. Reid Williamson Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.289
Scope and Contents

Theatrical poster for "Stop 13: The College of William and Mary," produced circa 1968-1969

Handmade victory banner (W&M #1 in the East), as featured in the 1967 Dec. issue of the Alumni Gazette. There is a print of the same photograph in the UA Photograph Collection [football].

DVD of Williamson's appearance on Jeopardy! in 1972. Williamson was a contestant over 5 days, and the video is approximately two hours.

Dates: 1967-1972
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Arthur W. and Leah James Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.065
Scope and Contents The collection includes two scrapbooks of photographs, postcards, and programs collected by Arthur and H. Leah James while students at the College of William and Mary. Material concerns student life, athletics, social life, the D.W. Griffith movie "America" which was made on campus in 1923, the Order of the White Jacket, and other issues of common interest to students. The scrapbook of Arthur James also includes material related to his service in the U.S. armed...
Dates: 1909-1977
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lucy Elizabeth James Journal

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01148
Scope and Contents Journal, compiled by Lucy Elizabeth James in 1959, titled "Four Score Years, 1880-1960," in which the author shares memories of the different stations of her life in a "series of random letters and narrations." Includes reminiscences of her childhood in New Kent County, student years in Farmville, years spent in Williamsburg and Newport News, all Virginia. Also included are photographs of the author, from 1880 to the 1950s, and two 1973 obituaries for Robert Welmore James (1901-1973)....
Dates: compiled in 1959
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

James McDowell Letters

 Collection
Identifier: UA 367
Scope and Contents

This collection contains of letters written to James McDowell (Governor of Virginia from 1843-1846, Member of the U. S. House of Representatives from 1846-1851) by students at the College of William and Mary.

Dates: 1840, 1845, 1847
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

James William Gossman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.285
Scope and Contents The collection includes writings of Gossman while a student at William & Mary, two letters to the faculty, and a black and white photograph of him with unidentified children (1954). Some of the writings are on various William & Mary-related letterhead: "The William and Mary Literary Magazine," "Ye Colonial Echo," and "William and Mary College Monthly." Gossman's letters to the faculty may be rough drafts. It is unclear if any were actually sent. The subject of both refer to his...
Dates: 1902-1905, 1954
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Janette Dye Erkin Barr photographs

 Unprocessed
Identifier: 2023.015
Dates: 1937-1947
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Janette Dye Erkin Barr photographs

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01807
Content Description

The collection features photographs of events, portraits, and candid photographs of varying sizes which showcase high school and college years of the subject, Janette Dye Erick Barr and her peers. The photographs document student life and the campus at William & Mary.

Dates: 1937-1947
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Japanese Cultural Association Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.036
Scope and Contents The collection is composed of records of the College of William and Mary student organization the Japanese Cultural Association from 1999 to 2008. The material includes fliers, scrapbooks, programs, meeting minutes, attendance lists, the film "The Kuril Island" by Evin Haithcock, and other material. Most of the administrative records and the scrapbooks are from the period 2006-2008 with the group's earliest years documented mostly through fliers. The...
Dates: 1999-2008
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John B. Terrell Essay

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.182
Scope and Contents

John B. Terrell's degree essay titled "National Honor vs. National Greed."

Dates: 1905 June
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John G. Warburton Chemistry Experiment Book

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.235
Scope and Contents

Experiment book kept by John G. Warburton for his Chemistry I class at William & Mary during the 1915/1916 academic year.

Dates: 1915-1916
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Lloyd Newcomb Note

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.207
Scope and Contents

Note to the faculty of William & Mary, written by John Lloyd Newcomb and signed by him and G. L. Stevens, requesting permission to leave campus for their homes for a specific period of time.

Dates: 1897 April 22
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John S. Davison Progress Report

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.282
Scope and Contents

Progress report of William & Mary student John S. Davison. The report is a typeset form completed in hand by W&M faculty member Ferdinand S. Campbell.

Dates: 1820 July 5
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John S. Spencer Letter

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.246
Scope and Contents The collection contains a letter, dated November 24, 1857, written by Spencer to someone whose name may be "Buck." In it, Spencer states that there are 80 students at the College and expects there to be more by February 22, 1858. He mentions he is rooming with William Davis, a "very quiet and studious boy," and that Thomas Mason "sends his respects to you and we visit the colored Girls together." He also mentions an incident in which Tom was "in the garden the other night after one"...
Dates: 1857 November 24
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Vance Weylie Letter to David Stuart

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.247
Scope and Contents Letter written by John Vance Wyelie from Jamestown to David Stuart in Alexandria on Nov. 30, 1798. Wyelie is known to have attended William & Mary from 1797-1798. The letter starts by Wyelie's acknowledging Stuart's loss of a parent and his words of comfort and understanding. He mentions trying to learn Spanish but that he could not bring his books to Jamestown for want of space in the carriage from Hanover, though he hopes his books came come at Christmas. Weylie discusses...
Dates: 1798 November 30
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John W. Eppes Permission to Board Off-Campus

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.251
Scope and Contents

This note was written by John C. Page of Cumberland to William & Mary President Adam Empie, stating that Mrs. Eppes gives her permission for her son, John W. Eppes, to board off-campus.

Dates: 1832 October 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Chapman Johnson Letter

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.038
Scope and Contents The letter dated May 18, 1800, from Chapman Johnson to College of William and Mary alumnus David Watson provides a detailed account of an "unfortunate disturbance," a student revolt at the College the previous winter. Chapman reported on a student's rude treatment of the postmaster, its witnessing by Professor Bracken, the expulsion of the student, the resulting student meetings and protests, faculty-student negotiations, consultation with Bishop Madison and St. George Tucker,...
Dates: 1800 May 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Helen G. Johnson Essay

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.190
Scope and Contents

Student essay written by Johnson titled "The President's House."

Dates: circa 1922
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Muriel Johnstone Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.143
Scope and Contents

Contains a loose scrapbook of photographs detailing student life at the College of William and Mary that were collected by Muriel Johnstone, class of 1929, during her time at the College. Included are photographs of campus buildings, Johnstone's fellow classmates, and student activities, including athletics, May Pole dancing, and Johnstone's sorority, Kappa Delta. Also included with the scrapbook are loose photographs and publications about Johnstone and the Kappa Delta sorority pin.

Dates: circa 1925-1929
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Floyd Jones Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.191
Scope and Contents This collections contains three items. The first is handwritten copy of a resolution adopted at a meeting of the faculty dated June 17, 1842. It acknowledges Jones' role in a duel, for which he was disciplined.  The second item is a letter dated December 14, 1842 written by Secretary of the Faculty, Charles Minnigerode, to Jones' mother, Catherine, wherein he informs her of her son's dismissal from William and Mary.  The letter includes an exerpt from the official faculty minutes which...
Dates: 1842
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Plummer Flippen Jones Debate Record, 1985

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.192
Scope and Contents

This collection contains a debate written and presented by Plummer Flippen Jones at the first open meeting of the Philomethean Literary Society for the 1895-1896 session, January 11, 1895. The topic of his debate was "Resolved: That present indications point to the downfall of our government."

Dates: 1895 January 11
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Richard Henry Jones Debate

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.211
Scope and Contents

Debate, written and presented by Richard Henry Jones while a student at William & Mary, arguing that marriage is better than bachelorhood.

Dates: circa 1858-1861
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Joseph Mason Anderson Essay

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.108
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of the College of William and Mary student essay titled "What Romeo and Juliet Owes to Shakespeare" which is signed "A.B. Essay June 22, 1904 by J. M. Anderson."

Dates: 1904
Found in: Special Collections Research Center